Keep calm and trust God

Reflecting on the past week, it’s amazing how I’ve seen God work. I’ve been deeply touched by people very dear to me, unexpectedly surprised by little blessings and amazed as my travel jitters have subsided!

Here are just a few examples of the Lord’s provision and encouragement:

  • On Tuesday, we were blessed to have a dear friend stop over for dinner and some great conversation. In chatting about travel, I soon brought up the issue of exchanging money in the UK and asked her if she had any suggestions on the best methods of doing so. In addition to giving me great advice, she had about £50 in her purse from a recent trip abroad. She was kind enough to exchange them with me for dollars! What a blessing. I feel so much more comfortable arriving on foreign turf with a bit of the local currency in my pocket.
  • On Wednesday, I received the sweetest email from a former co-worker who told me that I had been on her heart. In the email was a sincere and heartfelt prayer for my protection and peace while abroad. It nearly brought tears to my eyes.
  • On a shopping trip today, I noticed the saleslady was wearing a traditional Claddagh Irish purity ring. There’s a neat meaning to the jewelry, and I pointed it out to my mom in order to explain it. The saleslady, whose name was Eva, held out her hand to show us and then told us she was actually born in Northern Ireland. After mentioning that I was heading there soon, we discovered that she is from Londonderry and visits often! Eva explained some of the history of “The Troubles” – the political strife between the Catholics and Protestants in Northern Ireland. She reassured me of the kindheartedness of the people – something I’ve already experienced personally. We also learned that Halloween is quite a big deal in Londonderry. “People look at you weirdly if you’re not dressed up,” she told me. There’s also a big fireworks show over the River Foyle. Expect pictures in late October! But really…small world, right?

Already, I’m seeing that fear is wasted energy since a God like ours is in control. I know this stage in my life is going to take my trust to the next level, and the Lord has already shown me how he works in such neat ways. I hope these verses minister to you as they have to me:

John 14:27

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

Proverbs 3:5-8

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

 

4 thoughts on “Keep calm and trust God

  1. Thank you for sharing these instances of God’s providence, Sarah! They brightened my day. May you meet many more such kindhearted strangers who can connect you to Ireland. Have you worked out your housing situation?

    Like

Leave a Reply

