An interesting week

I love the word “interesting” – it’s so delightfully vague!  I shall describe my week as such simply to cover the range of emotions and experiences I have had. As a blogger, I often fall prey to selective presentation…that is, highlighting the positive occurrences in my life to make everything appear hunky-dorey. Well, this time, I put in a small peppering of frustrations, for a bit of flavor 🙂

Monday dawned sunny and bright. My first module that afternoon (Project Management) was neither. The teaching was dull, the room was stiflingly warm and the girl behind me hacked the whole time. Thankfully, I was simply testing out the class to determine whether or not to take it. I think I just might switch.

On Tuesday, I had “The Irish Outlaw,” an amalgamation of history, literature, cinematography and sociology surrounding the archetype of the Irishman as an outlaw. Sadly, I discovered this class was just for the international students. My diverse class consists of 10 American females. Humph. However, I was pleased that my professor, Dr. Éamonn Ó Ciardha, read “The Highwayman” by Alfred Noyes at the beginning of class. For those of you Anne of Green Gables lovers, this is the poem Anne recites at the White Sands Hotel. Needless to say, I was delighted. I am also delighted by the eccentricity of Dr. Ó Ciardha. With shoulder length hair, thick brogue and large boots, he is a sight to behold. I could almost see him with a “French cocked-hat on his forehead, a bunch of lace at his chin, a coat of the claret velvet, and breeches of brown doe-skin.” I think I will enjoy the class.

Later in the day, we had the “Freshers’ Fayre” – a sort of activities/societies fair for new students. I was bombarded with free promotional items and flyers, as society leaders attempted to attract me to their clubs. At the end of the day, I manned the International Society booth for a while, joined the Christian Union and was roped into (gasp!) rugby. However, I am simply going to try out one game! It’s only flag, not tackle.

Wednesday, my course in Computer Design was cancelled. In the afternoon, we had the inaugural meeting of the International Society, a club the study abroad students usually run to connect the Irish students with internationals. Well, folks, guess what? I was nominated and elected president. “Away On A That!” you say. (Irish slang for “I don’t believe you!” Well, I don’t either.) Thankfully, I do have a number of ideas for events, and my secretary is Krystyn, my friend from Canada. More to come on this!

After the meeting, I went home for a hasty dinner and then Dorie picked me up for church life group and prayer meeting. The latter took place in the new building I mentioned in the last post. It was so neat to be able to worship in a former night club that is on its way to becoming a house of God.

This morning, I met Dorie at the Richmond Centre mall. She makes delightful jams and chutneys, which she sells in a little booth there. I thought I’d stop by on the way to school and it was lovely to see her again (and sample her creations!)

My afternoon class, Developmental Psychology, proved to be a bit of a nightmare to find. I consulted my timetable and found I was to go to room MG207b. When I arrived at the large lecture theatre, I found a room full of students watching a film. I entered, assuming it had started early. Silly assumption. Of course, all 500 eyes turned my way. Less than 10 seconds after I sat down, I knew I must be in the wrong place. Turning to the girl behind, I found it was a nursing class, but the room was the correct one on my sheet. What followed was a wild goose chase, where no one could help me determine the room I needed to find. Finally, 25 minutes later, a faculty member directed me to the new room. How everyone else knew where to go beats me. In the end, the class was superb and I’m very excited about the teaching and the subject material. There’s a silver lining to every cloud, I suppose.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “An interesting week

  1. You are the highlight of my day… Every time I get an email about a new blog ….. I get so excited! I am soooo looking forward to the next! I love you!

    Like

  2. Goodness! Should I address you as “Miss President”???

    Fascinating blog. I am exhausted just thinking of all you are doing!

    I have been dealing with four domestic abuse situations over the past two days. We live in a very sick and broken world!

    Richard Sent from my iPhone

    Like

Leave a Reply

